Clouds of Magellan Press was established by Gordon Thompson in 2006 and is based in Melbourne. We have published monograph fiction, poetry and non-fiction by Australian writers, including many emerging authors. Our non-fiction has explored areas of ‘spirituality from the margins’, LGBTIQ issues, autobiography and memoir.

View our titles here.

GL Osborne’s novel Come Inside received the 2011 Barbara Jefferis Award and was shortlisted for The Age Book of the Year and the Commonwealth Writers Prize 2010 – Best First Book.

Ashley Sievwright’s The Shallow End was shortlisted in the Commonwealth Writers Prize 2009 – Best First Book.

Garry Kinnane’s Shadowed Days was shortlisted in 2009 Queensland Premiers Literary Awards for non-fiction.

Diane Fahey’s The Stone Garden was shortlisted in the 2014 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards.

Clouds of Magellan has also mentored new writers and supported writers through anthologies (Stamping Ground, Bent Street journal) and financial sponsorship of festivals, bookshops and events.


Clouds of Magellan is no longer receiving submissions.


We provide publishing services for individuals and organisations through the rainshadow imprint – including editing, publishing advice, book and cover design, production and distribution management. Contact us for a discussion of your publishing needs.


Clouds of Magellan titles are distributed to bookshops and libraries by John Reed Book Distribution.

Titles can be bought as ebook and print-on-demand paperbacks through online platforms such as Book Depository, Amazon, Booktopia, B&N, and from John Reed Book Distribution.

Online sales are supported by eBook Alchemy.